Skip to content

CALGAVIN Webinar: Cooling Viscous Liquids

Webinar Series logo

Overcoming Challenges in Heat Exchanger Design

Topic 1: Cooling Viscous Liquids

We are pleased to announce the first in a series of webinars which will address a range of common heat exchanger design challenges. Each webinar focuses on a particular issue in heat exchanger design, examining the background to the problem and comparing typical solutions. The format of the webinars will encourage audience interaction and the sharing of relevant knowledge and experience.

In this first session, the challenges involved in the cooling of viscous liquids will be addressed. Achieving turbulent flow is unrealistic with fluids of even moderate viscosity, and this leads to a range of practical problems in heat exchanger design. Where the viscous fluid is being cooled these challenges are particularly difficult. The webinar will examine these limitations and evaluate the various strategies available to overcome them. Practical examples will be used to compare the effectiveness of these strategies for typical applications.

Date: Wednesday 21st March
Time: 09:30am GMT / 10:30am CET / 13:30 GST / 15:00 IST / 17:30 CST / 03:30am US Central Time /

Register Logo

Sign-up via this link and we will send further details straight over to you.

Ian J Gibbard of Progressive Thermal Engineering, will present the webinar series in conjunction with CALGAVIN Ltd. Ian is a chemical engineer and has over twenty-five years of experience in heat exchanger engineering. He is an active consultant and trainer in this field and has delivered training courses in more than twenty-five countries worldwide. He has extensive field experience in the application of heat exchangers within the process and power generation industries.

The next sessions in the series will cover:

We still have spaces left, so do join us for a 45-minute session.

These webinars will be ideally suited for thermal design engineers who have to design heat transfer equipment for such flow conditions.