Skip to content

Webinar: Using the power of Computational Fluid Dynamics to solve engineering problems

Webinar Series logo

In this webinar, given by William Osley (Thermal & CFD Applications Engineer, CALGAVIN), we will focus on using the power of Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) to solve engineering problems.  

Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) uses the fundamental equations of fluid flow to simulate using a computer how fluid moves around a geometry. Whether it is a large geometry such as an air-cooled heat exchanger or as small as a single hiTRAN enhanced tube, CFD is a very potent tool to understand what is happening inside a heat exchanger. It can be applied to identify problems such as by-pass or maldistribution or to test how hiTRAN thermal systems perform in conditions outside our experimental setup. 

Webinar: Using the power of Computational Fluid Dynamics to solve engineering problems

Date: Wednesday 11 September 2019
Time: Houston 08:30  /14:30 London / 15:30 Frankfurt  / Abu Dhabi 17:30 / Mumbai 19:00

Register Logo

In this webinar,we will present what CFD is, how it works, and where CALGAVIN has used CFD, and what results can be calculated. We will then detail one area where CFD is a convenient tool. 

For this webinar, it will be using CFD to investigate underperforming air-cooled heat exchangers (ACHE).

One common cause of underperformance in multi-pass ACHE is vent holes in pass partition plates. API 661 or TEMA does not specify a recommended diameter or position for a vent hole in a pass partition plate. These are mainly defined in customer requirements, and if they are oversized and positioned poorly, they can have a dramatic effect on the ACHE performance, so CFD will be used to investigate this effect.

Finally, we will present a real-world case study of an underperforming air-cooled heat exchanger and how CFD was used to identify the source of the underperformance and then verified by thermal imaging.